BC Boards

I am a professional groomer and own my own business. Here lately I have had a lot of bc. I had 1 on Mon 1 on Wed and 1 on Fri and this week I have 2 on weds. All but 1 have been so wonderful for me. They just got a bath tidied up and feet trimmed. the 2 Weds are getting shaved. Yes I know and I tell my clients they should not be but I shave mine as well. Here in central Ohio bc get shave 2 to 3 times a here vets actually recommend it. Does any one else take theirs to a groomer or just comb them out them selves? I like them with the full coat they are so pretty but fro me we have no air condition in the house and Jess is always in the creek or rolling in something dead so I like her short but come winter I love her long soft coat. I actually do a lot of bc mixes they are every where here and I enjoy being with them. My 2 go to work with me and people say they have always wanted one. I hear that a lot.

I read the title and the first thing that popped into my mind was that my dogs idea of a spa day would be rolling in something stinky followed by a dip in the river (or swamp, or mud puddle...) :lol: :lol:

My dogs get baths with the hose 2-3 times a year. I brush them a couple times a months in the winter and 3-4 times a week in the summer. I I don't shave my long coated dogs as the coat actually helps insulate them a bit from the heat and prevents sunburn, but I will shave their belly if it's quite warm to help them cool off faster in the summer.

AC is rare for my dogs too (usually just at night when we have a string of hot days and it doesn't cool off at night) , but they seem to acclimate pretty well to the heat in the summer. They have shaded kennels with block flooring that they lay on to keep cool during the day. Last week was the hottest week so far of the summer (temps in the mid to upper 90s in Michigan). I kept exercise/work sessions a little shorter and didn't let them play hard in the middle of the day. They handled it all very well