BC Boards

New Rescue Preferring Alone Time

I'm new to Collie ownership, i've had Jack for about a month now he's a 5 year old rescue. The past month have gone surprisingly smooth after the first week and a half or so but for the past couple of weeks Jack has been spending a lot of time alone and I thought i'd reach out and see if this is a common thing, something that is fine or something I should maybe be a little worried about? 

As a bit of background I am a home worker (have been for 2+ years) so i'm pretty much always in the house but spend a large portion of my day in my study. Jack has a bed in the study and the doors within the house are always open for him to roam (except my bedroom). The past few weeks he has worked out that while i'm at my desk his attention from me is going to be minimal which is good, but rather than staying in the study with me after 10 minutes or so he will come for a quick stroke and then take himself down to his bed in the living room where he will remain until I go through that room again. This can mean that throughout the day in chunks of 2-4 hours at a time he is alone overall for around 8-9 hours.

Currently his general day will look like 7:30am-9am morning time on the sofa with me, 9am-11:30am alone in the living room, 11:30am-1pm out for a walk, 1pm-5pm alone, 5pm-8pm fetch, walking, training time and then more time relaxing with me, 8pm-10pm alone, 10pm-11pm relaxing with me. I'm not massively worried currently as he seems fairly happy, if i'm up and about the house he will follow me round, when im with him he's always happy to be right there next to/on me and I haven't found any sores suggesting he is bored and biting himself. But theres that new dog owner whisper in my ear saying "are you doing right by him?".

Thanks for adopting a rescue dog. Jack is a lucky dog.