BC Boards

Newbie...scared poopless

Hello all,

I'm new to the BC Boards and new to BC puppies.

I was (unexpectantly) given an 8 week old BC puppy for Christmas. (Seriously....who gives a grown woman a puppy without consulting her first???) While I was thinking of getting a dog in the spring, I was definitely not thinking of getting a puppy. Especially a BC puppy! However, once it was plopped into my lap, I couldn't refuse the adorable furry package. So now I have a 10 wk old BC puppy and I'm terrified.

Why terrified, you ask? Well...I live in a condo in the city and don't happen to have a flock of sheep in my dining room waiting to be herded. I've known a few border collies and unfortunately all have been hyper, neurotic nutcases. I can't live with a hyper, neurotic nutcase!

I've been reading these boards since Christmas evening (they've been incredibly helpful, thanks!) and I've noticed that many of you have BC's that aren't hyper, neurotic nutcases. What did you do to keep the neurosis at bay? What advice do you have for a BC newbie?

While I don't have a flock of sheep waiting to be herded, I am more than willing to do agility, obedience, intense exercise...whatever it takes. Where should I start?

My 10-wk old bundle of fuzzy joy (Ranger) is very smart. He already knows how to sit, down, up, stay (for as long as a puppy can). He's crate trained and well on his way to being housetrained. He LOVES the clicker and responds very well. Tonight I introduced "leave it" with a cube of cheese and half a donut and he got it in about 2 minutes...without even a nibble of cheese or donut.

Basically, my question is....what mistakes did you make in raising your BC pup that you wish you had avoided? What do you wish you had done better?

Thanks in advance for sharing your wisdom and for reading all this rambling!

post-8281-1199758793_thumb.jpg

I'm not the best person to answer your question, not having raised a bc puppy myself, but I did want to say welcome!