BC Boards

Creative Cues?

Today I started training my pup Luna in the Watch Me command and-- as I always do when I teach her something new-- I pondered over what to give her for a cue word. I found myself standing around in the kitchen with my baggy of treats for almost ten minutes by the time I'd decided!

I STILL can't think up a good cue for barking! "Speak!" just feels so boring to me! :P

I thought it'd be fun to hear some of the cues other owners have thought up that were unique and different from the usual "watch me" or "play dead" or "shake", etc.

Or even some non-verbal cues you've used!

Silly things like "Smile!" or "What does a shark look like?" for that endearing ((for humans)) teeth-bearing trick, or "Bang!" for that entertaining twist on the usual play dead command.

What kind of cute/funny/strange cues have you guys come up with?

I use "mine" when tugging, I never thought about it until R was playing tug with someone else at an agility trial and he would not give it back... None of the usual words were working :) when I said "mine" it had people in giggles... I should add it is often said in the same tone as the seagulls from Nemo... All my other commands are pretty standard.

I've got a few that are different.

I use "splat" for "lie down". That one is probably the most unusual and the one that people chuckle at the most.

I use "where's the puppy?" for LAT no matter what I am asking the dog to look at.

For paws: Left Paw Lift = "wave"; Right Paw Lift = "lift"; Left Paw Touch = "Paw"; Right Paw Touch = "Tap" (Lift and Tap are somewhat different)

I have, in the past, used "beep beeeeep!" for backing up away from me in front.

I have also, in the past, used "return" as a recall word.

Here is one that might really sound strange, but it makes logical sense based on how it was trained. If my dog is losing focus in competition, the cue to bring that focus back to me - "go sniff".