BC Boards

Food & Itchiness: Time to onset?

NorthfieldNick

Both of my boys have been insanely itchy lately. Nick does have dry skin, and he can not have fish oil as any fish causes him to have explosive diarrhea. I've been feeding TOTW Prairie (I think, yellow bag) for a couple months since I got a good deal on it from my awesome feed store owners. The boys are doing well on it, look good, etc. Hoot actually eats TOTW, which is amazing, considering he usually quits eating for a day or two every week or so. I don't recall the boys being itchy until we'd gotten through ~2 bags of TOTW. I'm now about 3/4 through bag #3. Could it possibly take this long for the itchies to set in? I'd be more inclined to relate them to the weather, shedding, and dryness from indoor heat, but who knows.

Nick will eat anything, and would probably be just fine on a diet of rotten oatmeal & dirt, but Hoot is fussy, picky, and hard to get enough food in to. I'm going to be bummed if I can't feed him TOTW.

Also, any ideas for oil/fats that aren't fish for Nick's dry skin? He gets flax oil, but it's probably a waste, as I don't think dogs utilize it very well. He'd happily eat lard every day, but this is a dog who gets fat breathing.

Thanks!

Also, any ideas for oil/fats that aren't fish for Nick's dry skin? He gets flax oil, but it's probably a waste, as I don't think dogs utilize it very well. He'd happily eat lard every day, but this is a dog who gets fat breathing.

Thanks!

I have heard good things about virgin coconut oil. It has medium chain fatty acids and Vit E. You want the kind that comes in a jar and is solid at room temp but melts really easily.

He'd happily eat lard every day, but this is a dog who gets fat breathing

He must be related to me! ;)