BC Boards

Dirty Little Secret

Amelia

• Replies 161
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Amelia,

Thank you for speaking out against this "dirty little secret" that is used by some "trainers" to train stockdogs. Indie is indeed a lucky girl to now be with you, and best wishes for her future as a sheepdog!

Regards,

nancy

Journey, if you or anyone else wants to know which so-called trainer I'm referring to, call or email me privately. bordersmith@sbcglobal.net 760.505.1553.

I don't think it's appropriate to name names on this board, but I'm happy to do it in private. If Eileen says it's OK, and doesn't think I'll get sued, I'll be glad to provide a name here.

Cheers all, and thanks for your support.

As a novice, I appreciate you bringing this forward. I will be sending my young dog off for training in the spring and I will be asking a lot of questions despite the fact that the trainer we are going to is well known and came highly recommended.

This breaks my heart. Thank you so much for helping this precious girl.

Poor Indie. Her pix make me cry. They remind me of the first pic I ever saw of my Gilly-- the sideways glance, lips pulled back, pressed down to the ground. I don't know what happened to Gil before I got her [i heard stories] but she was afraid of her own shadow too.

I am happy that Indie will have you to help her learn to live and work without fear.

I met a trainer who used shock collars on his dogs routinely, and encouraged others to do so. Most of those dogs involved were nervous, dirty and frequent grippers. Six months or so after a clinic involving a trainer who did not use shock collars, you could hardly recognize these same dogs - the gripping was gone, the dogs worked well and calmly, the dogs had an air of confidence.

This was a testament to me that strongly spoke against the use of "electronic training devices" - name some folks use to make them sound like high-tech tools of the future and not nasty implements.