BC Boards

Whistles---An inborn instinct??

RoseAmy

As you all know I've got this 9 month old super charged super keen always in overdrive puppy I've started.

It's been a real trip this dog has so much talent that nine times out of 10 she's naturally right. Only problem has been getting some control on her.

Been doing all the usual stuff to get a down on her BUT today I started her and of course she got excited and blew off the down..had just got done working my other dog..don't know what made me do it but I whistled the down to her..she hit the deck..Picture me in shock..so I whistled her walk up she looks at me and I say walk up..She gets a little pushy I whistle down..she hits the deck..Picture me hitting the deck. LOL

So now I'm thinking this is some kind of mistake on her part..So I let her do some outruns and she gets keyed up..I whistle down and boom she's on the ground.

I've never done whistles with her before...I'm in total shock. All that rope grabbing and blocking and running and all I had to do was whistle??

This is not all that unusual. Someone once did a PhD dissertation on the natural response by animals to certain sounds. Part of the research was on sheepdog whistles, including a natural response by many dogs to the normal down whistle. It was an eye opening piece for me to read. Yet, it all made so much sense when I read it. I've somehow lost the paper over the years but it was really good and intuitive. It led me among other things to start using the word "stop" as a verbal command instead of "lie down" once my dogs where running Open because "STOP" phonetically, is much more naturally conducive to, well, a stop than a women with a southern accent saying "lie down" :rolleyes: