BC Boards

Owning a "working" dog

Everyone knows not only am I new to border collies, I am new to training, owning a dog (as my own), and I'm pretty young for this major responsibility to be put on my shoulders. This doesn't, however, give people bashing rights to how I raise my dog, and find other ways to insult me.

I pride myself on being a quick learner, and I have put all my resources into being able to take care of my dog. I got Joy when I was 13, and I took all the responsibility for her. With the exception of her reactivity to other dogs, she is extremely well rounded, and is one of the best trained dogs I've ever met.

I'm not saying where, or mentioning names, but I've recently got into a fight with some older guy (a breeder, to add to the mess) who, to pretty much sum it up, "Im an insolent brat who's ruining border collies because she's not a working dog, and how dare I even attempt to raise such a dog, and she's going to die a failure". There was more, but that was the gist of it.

This man didn't mention his views on a working dog. I know from reading and interacting with other people on the board that the general view on a working border collie is having a dog who herds as a "living" be it trials or on a farm. Joy may not be a herding dog, but in my eyes she is a working dog. When I'm not at school, she is working some way or another till the time we go to bed. Either its practicing tracking, obedience training, helping with chores around the house, or her agility. For all this man knew, I could have been disabled in a wheel chair and Joy was my helper. Does that count as owning a working dog?

I think of dog breeds like people. You have Africans, Indians, Americans, Mexicans, Japanese, French...etc. and each of them have "jobs" for their specific area. Who are we to say that an Indian woman who is a neurologist isn't a working woman because she isn't selling spices on a street corner?