BC Boards

The drawback of video on the web ...

And she shows in obedience and agility too, so she must know how to do it right. :rolleyes: I'm a rank novice to stockwork of any sort and even I could see that something was "off" about that segment. (not to mention the dog's reaction to being put into a down at the start - can anyone say stressed?!)

At first I thought, gee I wish I could see how she starts the dog on sheep, but then I had a vision, and decided I am very glad they were just penned ducks we got to see demonstrated! What is the deal with people making up their own words for directions, etc.?

The sad thing is, I don't think they realize they are making them up. I suspect they just have really horrible sources of information. I also suspect that this woman has never been to a clinic, seen anyone training a dog on stock, read a book on starting a dog, etc.

If these people are "experts" then I could make a killing teaching herding lessons. At least I know the proper commands :rolleyes:

So she has one command for clockwise and one for anti-clockwise (cant remember what she said they were) yet when the dog changed direction of its own accord she said "good girl". So does she want the dog moving on its own or not?

I agree, the dog didn't look too eager at the start. Most dogs would be itching to work, not looking stressed about the whole thing.