BC Boards

Airline travel with an 8 week old BC

I lost my dear 13 year old Conner August 3 of this year. A week ago the man that gave her to me emailed me with news that he was going to have puppies any day and wanted me to have first pick! The puppies were born last week and now I am hopeful and in planning mode. He is in Denver and I am in Nashville so an airplane flight is involved. When I got Conner she was 2 1/2 and had to travel as cargo. This puppy I plan to carry inside the plane.

Has anyone traveled with a BC puppy this age?

What kind of carrier did you use? (I am thinking that this bag would be appropriate) Sherpa Delta Medium 16 lbs (7.25 kg), 16" (41cm) L x 10" (25cm) H 18" L x 10.5" H x 11" W

There are no direct flights that accept pets so would you plan a long layover and hopefully be able to take the puppy outside or a short one (45 minutes between flights) and just get home.

Any other insight would be greatly appreciated, I've never done this before!

Thanks!!!

When Taz was ten weeks old, I brought him with me on a flight from Colorado to New York (and back again, when he was twelve weeks old). I was nervous about it, because he was an active, squirmy pup who wasn't afraid to scream when he felt he was confined for too long in his crate, but he did really well. He also traveled in a travel sherpa bag--unfortunately, I don't remember the dimensions. I'd recommend getting the biggest one they have that is a shoulder bag, in case the pup is tall. The big one just about fit Taz at 10 weeks and was definitely a little too small for him at 12 weeks, but he wasn't sealed up in it for very long (just long enough to get through the gates, really). Once we were on the plane, and I saw that people were enamored with the super-cute puppy in the bag, I unzipped the top so he could poke his head out and even let him out for a while. He slept for most of both journeys.