BC Boards

Sigh ~ elderly dogs

urge to herd

Oh dear, sorry, Ruth and Gibbs!

I have no personal experience with leaky males, hopefully someone will jump in.  Roy turns 13 on 11/8 but so far he's continent.  It cheers me that his first morning pee takes about 45 seconds as I'm pretty sure he's really emptying his bladder.  He's never been a real 'marker' like some, happily.

Any chance Gibbs might have a UTI?

Good luck, best wishes, and keep us posted!

Amy

Thanks for the good wishes, Amy. I don't think it's a UTI. He's not shown any signs of pain when he's actively peeing, the urine smells like urine, there are no overt signs of blood. And he's been leaky for years, had him to the vet more than once, no signs of UTI ever. I know that doesn't absolutely mean this ISN'T a UTI, but keeping an eye on it.

R&G

Sorry Gibbs. It $uck$ to get old.

An option may be to put him in an X-pen at night with pee pads - if he is OK with the X-pen. I had an 18-19 YO girl that would start walking around in the middle of the night (she had a bed in my bedroom), and I would wake up and rush her outside. As she got older, she could no longer hold it and started peeing on the area rug - but only the 4x6 rug, not the wood floor. I would cover the rug with pee pads every night, and they would absorb her pee. Nothing leaked through. IIRC, it took about 8 pads to cover the rug, but only 2 pads were peed on at night.

Hi Ruth

I had a male who in his later years had a lax sphincter muscle at night during sleep.  I solved that problem with an ex-pen.  I set the pen up in a corner, so I got a bigger area by only using two sides.  The bigger area allowed him to move away from any accident.  I put old bedspreads down, so clean-up was easy in the washing machine.