BC Boards

Jumping issues

Hi,

I've been competing in agility for about 3 years now (in jan). I train under an awesome trainer who's gone to worlds and won nationals, or placed extremely high at nationals (USDAA and AKC). She uses alot of Linda Mecklinberg methods.

Conner and I competed VERY successfully for about 6-7 months, before he got the back injury. He had a great pass rate, and was doing excellent. We passed a run at EVERY trial, and looked great even when not passing. Then he fell, and threw out his back BAD. I did not realize this at the time until his first massage session about 6 months later. His back was extremely tight- one solid knot. During this time, Conner was still competing, and was dropping bars/missing weaves alot. I took a short leave of agility while in "rehab" to get his back better. During this past year of competition, we've got him to the point where he gets his weave entry every time, but I cannot get him to keep bars up.

His bar problem is this: he is a very efficient jumper/wonderfully tight turns, but the slightest handler movement drops a bar. Sometimes, there IS no reason for a dropped bar, except he's not collecting, or scrambling to go. So imagine a handler (my trainer has run him many times) who can train a dog to reach world team, and compete successfully at high ends, but my dog will still drop bars for her- So no suprise, when I run him, its the same deal. I cannot vary or move slightly wrong because DOWN with a bar.

I have tried marking it with a "lie down" while I place the bar up. No effect.

I've tried single jump work. Including sitting RIGHT in front of jump almost touching bar, and he has to jump and keep bar up. He does fine with this- extremely well.

I've tried challenging jump work with getting cookies for keeping bar up. He does this well.

I've tried "quitting" after he drops a bar- but a correction like this stresses him, and he starts running poorly.