BC Boards

Another Newbie Here

Hi all, this is my first post, but I've been lurking here for a while and registered about a month ago. I currently have 2 Shih Tzu (my wonderful fu-fu companion pups), but I am looking for a sport dog partner that I can do "stuff" with! I've already been learning a lot from many of you and thought I'd post a hello now that I have my first resident Border Collie, although he's not really mine; he is my foster dog. I'm hoping to reference some of your expertise to help me "raise him up right" :rolleyes: (or the best I can anyway) so that he will be successful in his forever home when they finally come along.

I've been a big supporter of local rescues for some time, and this is not my first foster dog, but it is my first Border Collie foster. I recently began volunteering for Mid Atlantic Border Collie Rescue so that I can continue to learn more about this awesome breed, especially the working BC :D . The farm where I am volunteering has working Border Collies, Sheep, an agility course, and of course a kennel and play yard for the rescues that are waiting for foster homes.

Anyway, my name is Angie, and Heeeere's Tate! (he's almost 6 mos - isn't he big (30lb) to be so young?!):

DSC_7999.jpg

DSC_8008.jpg

Hey, welcome! How wonderful that you are getting to know border collies by getting involved in rescue! Tate is a big, good-looking galoot, and I bet he is a lot of fun. I wish you great success in your fostering. Ultimately I'm sure that what you learn will be very, very helpful when you are choosing your own forever BC, and you will have the chance to help launch other dogs too. Just fabulous! :rolleyes:

Welcome! Thanks so much for being involved in rescue. Tate is gorgeous!!

(The nosy in me must ask...) If you're looking for a new sport partner, why is Tate "just" a foster? :D

Thanks for the warm welcome...

As far as the reason he's JUST a foster: :rolleyes: Well....