BC Boards

Retraining weave poles?

I'm unhappy with judes weaves. They used to be awesome but they deteriorated along the way :( I trained it with a modified 2x2 (read: I was lazy to watch the video, it bored me so I figured it out on my own after fast forwarding through :P) it worked up only we took a 2 months break, then they fell apart. Now I'm micro managing it, and I hate micro managing. I am for total obstacle independence and this annoys me.

So suggestions? Would it screw him up if I restarted from scratch? Watch the 2x2 for real this time and follow the 12 day plan to a T..

Also could someone tell me about guide wires. How they work, are they good? It seems like they could really help drive in a dog who already knows how to weave. But create dependence in a dog who doesn't know how..

OK, I am not an expert in weave training i.e. I have only trained one way - using channel weaves, But my dog has excellent weaves and is very good with finding the entrance from most angles.

I know A LOT of people who like the 2X2 weave training. Since I like to train my dog at full speed when possible, I felt that the 2X2 training did not fit in with my preferred style of training.

FWIW, I have not heard much good about guide wire training. I guess I do not see how they would create drive in the weave performance.

I do not think that you would mess up your dog by retraining. A lot of people will retrain an obstacle when they are not happy with their dog's performance on that obstacle.

Jovi