BC Boards

Giving shorter versions of 'commands'

Hi I would welcome some comment on the following;

I started trying to train Meg with the usual, 'come here,' 'sit down,' 'fetch the ball,' etc. Then I had a think and wondered if it would not be easier for her just to hear one word when possible. Like, come, sit , fetch etc. It seems to make sense the less she has to hear the better she would remember. BUT as I am a novice in this area and want to learn from those with experience thought I would ask.

Now and then I hear myself say things like ' come here now or there will be no treat' and then I laugh at myself for thinking Meg , thought she is soooooooooo clever , would have a clue about that sentence except for the word 'come' and my tone of voice. I find 'up' works just as well as 'get up'

How do you all use commands or is just what works best. Thank you.

Hi I would welcome some comment on the following;

I started trying to train Meg with the usual, 'come here,' 'sit down,' 'fetch the ball,' etc. Then I had a think and wondered if it would not be easier for her just to hear one word when possible. Like, come, sit , fetch etc. It seems to make sense the less she has to hear the better she would remember. BUT as I am a novice in this area and want to learn from those with experience thought I would ask.

How do you all use commands or is just what works best. Thank you.

We started Scooter out with one word commands, such as sit, off, stay, etc. As for "sit down", that would have confused him since that is basically two commands--sit and down (as in lie down). Now, most of the time we just talk to him in complete sentences! LOL! He seems to understand. :rolleyes:

HI,