BC Boards

Animal Planet show looking for problematic Border Collie behavior in New York

Hi there,

My name is Steve Dost, and I am an associate producer with Optomen Productions in New York. We are producing a presentation tape for Animal Planet about dog breeds, and our tape will feature Border Collies. In addition to herding and agility trials, we would like to feature a segment on pet psychology.

If you have a Border Collie in the New York area with problematic behavior (e.g. obsessive-compulsive problems), write to me at steve.dost@optomenusa.com with your story, pictures of your Border Collie, and your contact information.

Thanks!

Uh, yeah. Pretty funny!

Anyway, you all should contact Dr. Karen Overall at Penn State. http://abrionline.org/expert.php?id=21 She's had experience with many breeds and has worked with various media as an expert, before.

Accually, I had this vision, when I saw the title:

A couple of old ranch dogs and a few young upstarts, sitting around the camp fire, dipping thier milk bones in a jar of salsa, and watching a barbie collie futily trying to fetch some sheep, and the words "NEW YORK CITY! forming on one of the old dogs lips while all the others looked over to see Banjo Barbie failing miserably.

Sorry, Just my sick sence of humor.

I ruined my plantar fascia playing soccer - in flip flops. That's probably the relevant topic to be covered, if the issues is "Challenges of living with a Border Collie."

Not to mention the whole, buying a farm thing.

In leiu of the original post, it got me to thinking about a thread Id read on another board, and I borrowed a few snipits from it.

Border Collies don't have to be always "on" - no matter what people tell you.

A well-bred border collie is NOT a crazy, hyper, thoughtless, no impulse control type of dog. Some can be made that way by people that excuse such behaviour or encourage it - but they are NOT born that way.