BC Boards

Sitting pretty - never thought of it

INU

I was talking to a friend who is a dog trainer by profession yesterday. I was telling her how Cooper (lab)has more difficult time doing a sit-stay. Since he was a pup, he always sit with one leg shifted and we thought it was just the way he sat. He didn't show any signs of hip dysplasia so we weren't too worried. I thought because of the way he sits, it was harder for him to stay sit for a long time. After a minute or so, he'd collapse and get in down-stay unless he's told not to. I've seen many labs sitting this way so I didn't think much of it. Jazzy on the other hand, always sit nicely and she can stay sit for as long as she has to.

This trainer told me that obedience trainers try to fix this when the dogs are very young or it becomes a lot harder to fix. I never thought of fixing postures of dogs before because I am not into competition obedience or show ring. She told me that you can put a pup or a dog on a small raised area like a tree stump and the dog would correct its posture himself.

Again, I don't care how he looks when he sits or downs as long as he does when he's told. But if correcting his posture would make it easier for him to stay sit, I might consider it. Have you heard of this method? Have you had a dog sits like him and you were able to adjust?

cooper_front.jpg

cooper_behind.jpg

jazzy_front.jpg

jazzy_behind.jpg

Guest WoobiesMom