BC Boards

Worms (Internal Parasites)

bexie

Okay, Molly has worms. At least she had one yesterday. I'm really not satisfied with what the vet's office is telling me and our two regular vets at the practice are on vacation and I don't know these other vets. Maybe it's just my logic that is off because I'm not experienced with these things, so I thought I'd ask here and you can tell me if I'm right to be worried. If it sounds like I am, as soon as regular vet is back from vacation, I am going to go pester him and make sure something better gets done.

Normally my BF does the talking-to-the-vet stuff and he did most of it this time too. He's got a good relationship with our current vets and has had them for years (I only just moved here a year ago) and gets good deals from them and does them favors in return. So I let him do this stuff so I don't make a mess of it. Plus usually we're dealing with the horses and he knows all the right words in Danish where I get confused (so he and the vets work it all out then he gets to explain it to me afterwards). So about a week ago Molly threw up and there were some worm bits in it and he's been supposed to work out dewormer but hadn't gotten that all worked out yet. Annoying, but not the end of the world.

Then yesterday I took Molly out to do her business and she got very upset and started running back and forth and freaking out. Once I finally got her settled down enough to see what was going on, she had something hanging from her and I had to help. It turned out to be A FIVE INCH LONG WORM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So I took a hold of it and gently pulled it out so she could calm down. Who wants a huge worm hanging from her rear end?