BC Boards

Has anyone trained their BC for fire alarms?

Working as a Firefighter I am continually distressed when responding to house fires where an animal has perished. Once again while working a structure fire the other night the family informs us that they have a dog and cat in the residence. While we always search for people and animals in a primary and secondary search, pets can be hard to locate as they tend to hide during fires. This time we found the small dog, evacuated, and performed CPR and ventilations enroute to a Pet ER. It looks like this dog may survive. Unfortunately that is the exception.

Has anyone attempted to train their BC to respond to a smoke detector alarm? The best thing for a pet to do would be to exit the house through a pet door. If not on option, going to the front door and lying down immediately to the right of the openning side of the door. In 90+% of fires we enter through the front door. If a pet were right inside the door we would notice immediately (hopefully).

I would be curious to hear your thoughts on this. I think we will start training today!

Thanks,

Jaime, Eeva & Tuuli

Whenever our smoke alarm goes off, Bailey barks his head off and comes running to us (where ever we are) anyway. But I couldnt guarantee he'd do that if there was an actual fire in the house as there'd be a lot more going on that just the noise from the smoke alarm.

Good idea though, I can see how that could help greatly!

Actually yeah... training them to run to you might be a good idea. That way I wouldn't be freaking out trying to find them. (I always said, if there was a fire I don't think I could leave without Oreo. Second floor bedroom... I had nightmares about trying to get her down with me. O.O)