BC Boards

Last night's excitement

I frequently take the dogs along to school with me. They like riding along and just chill in their crates while I'm in class. The college campus has several nice shade trees so they do just fine in the car with the windows all down a few inches. If it's too hot I leave them home of course. But by taking them along they're happy and they think they've done something.

I've been doing this for 3 years and people don't even know they're in the car 99% of the time. It has worked out great.

Enter last night. I walk out after class and 3 police cars as well as campus security are surrounding my car. About six people. Oh my. I was pretty sure what was up.

The campus is pretty dead on summer evening and my car was parked away from the buildings (because it was in the shade....) one of the older security guards checked it out, saw the dogs and things mushroomed from there I imagine.

So I went over, introduced myself, showed them all that my dogs were indeed fine (and were not even interested in fresh water when offered) etc. Had a chat with the officer in charge (K9 handler) and he said things looked good to him and that I seemed to know what I was doing. Pointed out that I did search and rescue and that my dogs travel along with me A LOT. And that I had way. too. much. invested in them on so many levels that I wouldn't put them at any sort of unnecessary risk.

He said he would run the whole situation past animal control and get back with me in a few days. That makes me slightly nervous but oh well. I know what I'm doing and have documentation, etc to prove it. And the cop seemed quite understanding/easy to talk to, but still...

Let's hope it all works out well for you. The problem with laws is that they are enacted to help avoid problems for the lowest common denominator, and don't often take into account those who really know what they are doing and doing it responsibly.