BC Boards

Purchasing an Open level dog

I really was not sure where this type of question should be posted, so I thought general would work.

I am a complete novice in sheep herding and new to these boards. I have an 11 month old border collie that I am training with two patient herding instructors and it is going very well. Both of them have suggested that I purchase a second dog - one that is trained for the open level - so that I can learn from him/her and this would make me a better trainer and handler for my novice dog. This is what helped both of them as well as several friends/fellow trainers/students. They also say that I will learn a lot having to work two dogs, plus it will give me an open level dog while my current dog matures.

So my question is this: I have been looking and think I found a potential dog. I have spoken with the owner and he will be getting me a video of the dog on sheep so that I can see him work sheep. I am planning on sharing it with my instructors for their thoughts as well as going to meet both the owner and the dog if I continue to be interested. But when I talk with the owner, I am finding myself unsure of what questions I should be asking - afraid of my own inexperience I guess.

I would really appreciate some advice from those that have purchased an open level dog on what I should be asking the owner about - be it from a health, herding, training/trialing, general life with the dog aspect.

Thank you all very much!

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think you should have your mentors go with you to check out the dog. A good handler can make a dog look great and being green you really won't know what to look for.

What Kristen said!