BC Boards

Trying some raw

Cadi and Jedi have alot of tartar on their teeth for young dogs. So in the hopes of avoiding dentals, I've decided to try giving them some raw a couple of times a week. I was in our local natural pet food store today and they had Nature's Variety Raw turkey necks. I bought two (somewhat small ones) and they are defrosting in my fridge right now. I'm a little grossed out by it, but I have to try. I have visions of diarrhea clean up floating around in my mind though. :rolleyes:

So my questions are:

Do I let them eat the whole thing right away, or half to ease them into it? Where do you generally feed this and what do you use for clean-up? If I give them some beef ribs, turkey necks, or chicken leg quarters perhaps once or twice a week will this be enough to clean up their teeth?

Thanks!

I'm fairly new to raw myself, so I can only answer one question with confidence. Cleaning - It's honestly not as gross as you would expect, I was picturing blood and guts all over his beautiful white chest, and in reality after a meal, not a lick is left anywhere. Mal eats in a crate with nothing in it (just the crate pan), and it gets rinsed off every night after he eats. A friend of mine taught hers to eat on a towel and they don't move from the towel until they are done with their meal, then she justs tosses them in the wash.

Hi Jedismom:

I also have just started raw part-time. I do not know too much, and I’m sure others here can give you better info, but I will tell you of my experience so far.