BC Boards

Looking For Insight

Hi!

So glad I found this site. I am the new owner of a "rescue" Border Collie - although I am an experienced trainer/instructor of other breeds and this "rescue" dog never was in a shelter; was a courtesy listing and I secured her from her home.

I am thoroughly enjoying the learning process about this breed and this dog. The little challenges I am encountering do not surprise me...however, I find I am in need of more breed insight (i.e. living with a border collie - and I'm sure I'll need more insight in the future).

She's 1 1/2 yrs., spayed, and seems to have a nice, even temperament (although I know that I will not be seeing the true dog for at least a month; she is only here 2 1/2 weeks and is still in a major adjustment phase). I think she's doing very well for a dog that was plucked out of a home and thrust into another home.

"Play growling" She does a lot of it. I bred, owned and trained an aggressive breed before, and with them, this was never allowed. I'm thinking the former owners did a lot of wrestling, tugging, and roughhousing as she was growing up. Have decided that for now, we don't want to encourage that, however, is play growling ok in the border collie world (that is, play growling between handler and dog)?