BC Boards

Is it possible?

Hi,

First post here, I'm trying to decide if a bc is right for me. Here is my situation, I am a Marine pilot getting ready to deploy so getting a dog is more on the 8 to 9 month time horizon. By then I will have a 1 1/2 y/o and a 4 y/o. I live in a suburb type area, and there are plenty of places to run the dog. I normally work about a 7am-630pm day, so I can run with the dog in the morning and be home at lunch to play. My wife is stay at home and our oldest will be doing pre-school type stuff during most of the morning.

I really like bc's and am excited them. It's just that everything I've read says that they are bad with children. While the bc's that i've been around have definitely been very high energy, none of them have tried to corral my kids.

Are these dogs that only people with ranches and sheep should have? Or can an active family with a couple of kids swing it?

Cheers,

Scrtchr

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

First post here, I'm trying to decide if a bc is right for me. Here is my situation, I am a Marine pilot getting ready to deploy so getting a dog is more on the 8 to 9 month time horizon. By then I will have a 1 1/2 y/o and a 4 y/o. I live in a suburb type area, and there are plenty of places to run the dog. I normally work about a 7am-630pm day, so I can run with the dog in the morning and be home at lunch to play. My wife is stay at home and our oldest will be doing pre-school type stuff during most of the morning.

I really like bc's and am excited them. It's just that everything I've read says that they are bad with children. While the bc's that i've been around have definitely been very high energy, none of them have tried to corral my kids.

Are these dogs that only people with ranches and sheep should have? Or can an active family with a couple of kids swing it?

Cheers,

Scrtchr