BC Boards

Finnicky Border Collie

I have a 1-year old border collie/german shepherd (i think) mix. I got her last September from BC rescue. Are BC's typically finnicky eaters? She gets good quality food twice a day (science diet, professional, solid gold, royal canin) I've tried switching foods to find one she likes, mixing it with water, canned food, cottage cheese, etc. She is just not into food!! Her health is great, she's energetic and happy, and up to date on all her shots and blood work, no worms, etc (my partner, her co-owner, is a vet) so she doesn't have any apparent health issues. But she stays so skinny because she only eats about 2/3 of the time.

Any suggestions on this or is this typical for a young BC?

Hello and welcome,

I am no expert on the Bc but Holly was a fussy eater before we got her spayed. She was ok when we first got her home for a while, (she was 7weeks old then) although we did have to change her food a few times as she has a delicate tummy. Anyway she would miss meals if we didn't coach her into eating. ( I know it wasn't the best thing to do as it trains them i suppose that you will hand feed them if they don't eat.) I wanted to make sure she ate enough to grow properly, she was always fed a good quality kibble food. Once we had her spayed though a few months back she has changed into a hungry girl and her food is not left down now at all.

Sorry i can not help more but just thought i would add i know the feeling as Holly was fussy. It may be a BC thing i am not sure on that one either. :rolleyes:

How much are you feeding her? Of that amount, how much does she eat? And what's her height/weight?

Can you post a picture of her?

It may be that she's really not all that skinny, for a BC. In fact, we had a thread in the Photo Gallery a while back showing examples of what BCs in good weight look like.:rolleyes:

O and if you are needing to coax her into eating, try mixing a raw egg into her food :rolleyes: