BC Boards

Trained or natural instinct

As you can read from my very first post Tyzer was a rescue dog, picked up as a stray. So I have no knowledge of his history, but instantly I noticed he was really smart.

From day one I could see he had some level of obedience, and when he is in close proximity to our other animals (cats and rabbit) he will naturally attempt to herd them.

Out in the open he looks every bit the 'sheep dog' (minus the sheep that is) the way he plays frisbee or running after a ball.

So I have often wondered if these are natural traits of BC's or if Tyzer has had some form of training (obedience/sheep trials).

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

Jackson started BC crouching at a very young age and giving the "eye" and this was for toys! It doesn't indicate anything but that he is a BC! So in answer, yes, this is natural for some BCs to do. I don't say all because I believe with bad breeding it can be bred out of them. I hate 100% inclusive answers cuz there is always an exception to any rule! The only way you can know for sure is to put him on sheep with someone who knows what they're doing and see what he does.

Hey Dixie Girl.... I 100% agree with your statement of no answer is 100%!!!! hmmm!

Phoenix and Amica also have incredible, "eye", and started the crouching by a very young age. We got them at 7 wks. of age and when the 2 pups are together (now 1yr and 8 mos), nothing is allowed to be "by itself"! everyone has to be somewhere, and that somewhere is where ever Phoenix and Amica want them to be! hahahahaha!

As most of ya'll know, Phoenix and Amica had there first sheep experience, on May 23. Amazing! They were both distracted by smells, people, and other dogs, but when they did catch a glimpse of the sheep... they were on them in a flash. It is sooooo great watching these dogs, this is my idea of an amusement park, watching BC's herd sheep. I could watch them all day!