BC Boards

what is your take on this video

kelpiegirl

Ok total stock dog newbie, but Animal Science major here, is it just me or is the one BC just basically chasing the sheep and the "trainer" and "handler" are letting him?! I know the few times Maggie's been on sheep the trainer stopped anything that looked like that immediately. Certainly looks like the dog isn't ready for the big field at least - it just didn't look "right".

Well, (knowing I am new to all this and so my opinion is worth about zero), I would have smiled too, when it got up and trotted away apparently unharmed.

But I would have stopped at that point and swapped out sheep and given that one a break.

Also, I have the tendency to want to work the sheep v e r y s l o w l y. I am ok if they trot but the instant they break into a canter I am having to herniate myself to not yell, "LIE DOWN" like a lunatic, yes, even when Starr is in perfect control and knows exactly what she's doing. Mark tells me I need to work on my pace. So given all that, it seems like they are rocketing around a bit more than I would be comfortable with.

I think I'm going to make a new signature line that says, "Your mileage may vary. I am a a Baaaaaahhhhhhhddd sheep person."

Yes, basically the trainer did nothing and let the dog chase. No point in that whatsoever. It did appear that the trained BC was trying to clean up the mess, but not a possibility with the other dog chasing.

Julie

Ok total stock dog newbie, but Animal Science major here, is it just me or is the one BC just basically chasing the sheep and the "trainer" and "handler" are letting him?! I know the few times Maggie's been on sheep the trainer stopped anything that looked like that immediately. Certainly looks like the dog isn't ready for the big field at least - it just didn't look "right".