BC Boards

BC rescue- training for backcountry travel

Hello!

I’m new to border collies and rescues and I’ve been following these discussions for the last few months.
About two and a half months ago, we adopted a ~6 yo male BC, named Rooster. We found him abandoned in the desert at our campsite, and luckily he had a collar. 

It’s quite the backstory, but we discovered: 
-he’s had at least 3 owners prior to us, all of them ranchers
-He became uninterested in cattle and sheep
-Was kenneled for longer periods of time later in life (we had to pull five teeth)
He’s such a sweet dog but generally only allows me and my partner to give him love. With others he’s rather skittish and becomes afraid when people pet him for too long, especially men.(were practicing “doggy consent” now)

I’m going to obedience classes with him (he is excelling!), we will start agility this week and we are training him as a backcountry dog (I.e. hiking, backpacking, skiing, etc) 

Top things we’re working on are:
Confidence
Socialization
Recall and staying CLOSE

Recognizing that he herds and is used to operating at a distance, he hasn’t a clue that his new owners do not prefer the wide berth he gives while traveling in the backcountry. His recall within 30 yards on trail is stellar but the farther we’re out, the more wild he gets. We absolutely cannot have him far ahead of us, or lurking in the distant periphery and ignoring us, due to the nature of our objectives and tight navigational boundaries. 
I give him lots of praise for checking in, we play hide and seek, and I will also change directions on him when he hasn’t checked-in to keep him on his toes. I’ve learned to trust that he will find me (the nose goes!), but after heavily practicing recall, we need the next level up.
I’ve purchased a remote collar(beep vibrate shock, likely only will use the beep) and am learning how to use it before I put it on him.