BC Boards

Agility at Home

Hi, was wondering if anyone has experience teaching a little bit of agility at home with their border collie? 

There is only one woman in my area who does agility but she isn't doing it this year because of an injury. I don't have a large area to do agility in, but I could get a few things to start teaching Dallas myself, like weave poles and a little tunnel. Wasn't sure if this would be a good idea or bad idea? Or really a great way to go about it? 

Are you new to agility? If so I would recommend an online class to get you going. Check out the Fenzi Academy, Amanda Shyne - Data Driven Agility to start with. Agility is a complex activity and having guidance makes a huge difference in the how much fun you will both have. I have been training agility for 10 years and I love online courses as I live in an area with lots of agility competitions but there are no great trainers so I rely on online coaches to keep me learning and improving.

I am new and was wondering about maybe books or YouTube channels that would help, but that Fenzi Academy thing would be perfect! Thanks for that suggestion! I'm well excited for that. Do you have any suggestions on equipment I should purchase just to start off with? I'm on a budget, but was thinking tunnels made for kids might be good. There was someone in my area giving away weaving poles for agility on freecycle so was thinking about grabbing those as well. 

To start off with, your best bang for your buck is going to be hoops and some cones.  They are easy to make, put no strain on the dog's body, and most  of early agility stuff isn't related to obstacles, it's just handling on the flat/going where you want them to go.  Your pup, if I remember, is pretty young.  So weaves and jumps and contacts I'd be holding off on.   Especially the weaves - those things are rough on a dog's body.