BC Boards

dog "working" other dog

I noticed in BCS's thread that Sam was "working" Mel and a couple of folks have said not to let this happen. Could folks elaborate?

Bea loves to do this with Colt her big brother. She doesn't do it with any other playmates. I let her til she was almost 4 mos. old. I thought she was playing. And yes, damn cute, lots of crouching, slinky cat like stalking, etc. It quickly became annoying as she will sometimes bark and growl and she was jacking the ball or frisbee. I put her on a long line and got a wait on her and I also use chill and here, but I am constantly having to manage this whenever we play ball or frisbee as this is the only time she does this behavior. She listens remarkably well, but will start up again if I take my focus off her for too long.

I'd like to know why folks say it is detrimental to later stock-work and if folks have suggestions for stopping it completely.

Since I have no knowledge of working stock with my dogs, I can only repeat what I said in the previous thread. Actually, I can add that the behaviorist we took Shonie to, (Trish King at Marin Humane Society) said that it is really, really, really annoying to the dog being worked, especially if it's all one way.

We stopped exercising the two girls at the same time, except for leashed walks. No more playing ball with Sam while Shonie was stalking her.

Ruth

Mick has no interest in working other dogs...he only believes in working sheep. Beag (now with the ex) had an extreme interest in working other dogs. Mick just ignored it, but it did cause problems with other dogs on occasion.

I suggest discouraging it as much as possible, but I honestly do not know the best way to go about it.