BC Boards

Getting your bc to focus on you

BCkris

I first would like to say thank you to all have helped me with all my questions in the past.... as you can tell im a newbie at most of this obedience training... My lynus and i have been taking obedience classes and i cannot for the life of me get him to focus on ME. especially during heeling practice and with distractions during his sit/down stay. im sure i need to train him to focus on me, so is it a method to teach him to focus, have him look at me "click" then a very rewarding treat? (using a better treat than normal)?

our problems are: Heeling, he see's the dog next to him or in front of him and tries to go after them (playfully). all he wants to do is play with everyone and every dog. at home with no distractions he is just perfect of course.

help, our graduation test is in a few weeks and i really dont want to fail!

Thank you!

The Look at That game from Control Unleashed can help a lot with that. If you want info on it, let me know and I can PM it to you.

In that specific circumstance, I would not wait for voluntary attention. Look at That is much faster, and much more effective.

The Look at That game from Control Unleashed can help a lot with that. If you want info on it, let me know and I can PM it to you.

In that specific circumstance, I would not wait for voluntary attention. Look at That is much faster, and much more effective.

Yes please! Thank you!!!

How much do you practice in areas with distractions? Often what happens is a person practices in a very low distraction area such as their lving room or quiet back yard, then go to a class where distractions abound. It's a whole different ballgame for your dog and it really makes a difference if you work on getting out and practicing in areas where you can incrementally add in distractions.

In addition to using a variation of the LAT game from Control Unleased, I also use alot of play in my focus or 'attention' training.