BC Boards

Running my first novice trial

This weekend Soda and I will be running N/N in San Diego at the Highland Games. As I understand it, this is a smaller field but still, this is a huge step for Soda. I honestly, honestly never thought we'd get this far! It will most likely be the pinnacle of her sheepdog career but I'm okay with that. She's come so far, especially for a puppy-mill bred dog and with a total and complete noob for an owner. I'm not really sure how we'll do, Soda occasionally lacks confidence in new situations and I've been meaning to get out to other trainers and fields but it's always one thing or another, you know? But I'm just so... beside myself.. that I will be running in Novice! I know to most of you it's NBD but like I said, it's a major accomplishment for the Soda and I can't wait to see what happens. Even if we crash and burn, at least I felt confident enough to go!

I'm excited to see Open--I've never actually gotten to see Open runs IRL before. I work on the weekends so I have to take vacation time to see/compete. We've run in a few arena trials and those are fun and kind of "our level" stuff. This is a reach but reach for the moon, even if you miss you'll land among the stars, right? (Ok, corny, I know...)

Well, there's not a whole lot of point to this post but if anyone has any advice, please impart it! And if you'll be there, come say hi!

How exciting! Don't be surprised when it goes by like lightening. Ask the judge at the handler's meeting if you can complete the course even if you retire (that way, you can go out and help Soda and still work for how ever much time you have left). Bring some libations for afterward. Volunteer to help for Open (especially to scribe) if you can--you'll learn a ton.

Here's a nice article by Don McCaig about going to the post for the first ime

Good luck and let us know how it goes!