BC Boards

Hello, newbie w/ new puppy checking in

This is my first post, I found this forum a few days ago and I've been doing lots of reading here. I've had BCs for years and I absolutely love the breed. I lost my faithful 12 yo BC "Roxie" a few months ago and I just got a new puppy, I named her "Kate" and she is responding very well to her training and seems to be a very smart girl.

She's only a little over 6 weeks old and has already learned to come to me when I whistle for her and is doing extremely well with her house training. After only 2 days shes going to the door when she needs to go out and do her business, I've never had a dog respond so quickly. Guess I'm a proud papa LOL, just wanted to say Hi to everyone and I'm sure I'll be asking lots of questions in the future

Picture004.jpg

I'm a newbie as well. Welcome. I've only been on this forum for 2 days and have already learned more from these forums and the people here than I did in 4 yrs of college. Very cute pup. Just out of curiosity. Are there a lot of BC's in Kentucky for any particular reason? I rescued mine through an organization in MD/PA and traced him back to Paris, KY where he was a stray.

I'm a newbie as well. Welcome. I've only been on this forum for 2 days and have already learned more from these forums and the people here than I did in 4 yrs of college. Very cute pup. Just out of curiosity. Are there a lot of BC's in Kentucky for any particular reason? I rescued mine through an organization in MD/PA and traced him back to Paris, KY where he was a stray.

I've been told the reason is that Border collies are farm dogs they are a dime a dozen and in WV, KY, and OH they have no real value like a Lab or Beagle per say. They arent a dog of status. So if one ends up at the pound esp the humanes you have to either spay or neuter or pay a large fee to retrieve your dog intact. If it's their second time being picked up you have no choice they spay/nueter. They also charge you for their surgery.