BC Boards

Choosing a breeder?

So, I've narrowed it down to two breeders. Both are working bred breeders, and have eye, and hip tested dogs, and the dogs seem 'proven' in their herding. So, I'm new to border collies, and choosing my breeder, so I'm needing a little help from you guys, who know border collies, and know breeders.

My first choice is Fieldstone Border Collies. I've liked them for a long time, and have been in contact with them.

My second choice is Merlynn Kennel. I've talked to this breeder as well, seen pictures, and asked a few questions.

Both seem like really nice breeders to me, and the difference I see (But that's just me, which is why I'm asking for help) is that Merlynn Kennels is about 6 hours(each way) from here. It wouldn't be too bad, we could probably do the drive in one day, with two or more people driving. Fieldstone is about a 20 hour drive, each way.

I can't decide. Fieldstone said they'd ship to me, but even then, it'd be a long flight, and we'd drive to just about the same place as the other breeder to pick the pup up in Portland. Only difference would be that along with the price of the pup, and the flight over (from Fieldstone), I'd be paying the gas to Portland. With the other breeder, they're pretty close to Portland, and the pups are the same price, but I wouldn't have to pay airfare.

Fieldstone information found here: http://www.fieldstonebordercollies.com/main.html

Merlynn Kennel information found here (first on the list): http://www.breeders.net/search.php?action=...p;x=58&y=20

What do you think?

*Also, on a totaly unrelated question, where do I post pictures of dogs that AREN'T border collies?

Shay,

I thought you'd decided to rescue. There are some wonderful rescues--including puppies-- in your area. Are you sure you don't want to give a home to a dog who might otherwise be put down?