BC Boards

Buying a Clicker

Guest jackieandryan

Guest jackieandryan

I have never used one before and after reading about it I believe I'll be giving it a shot.

Is the actually sound something that both humans and dogs can hear?

I noticed that petsmart sells this Pet Agree Clicker

Petco sells this, but I can't see something that costs 1.99 being any good

Petco Clicker

I don't want to spend a lot on a clicker, but I was hoping I could get one for less than 50 dollars. Just let me know what you recommend.

Is there someone that can move this to the appropriate forum. I just saw the word "Training" and was too lazy to read the part about "working Stockdogs"

Sorry

Buy the I Click - you should be able to get a clicker for less than $2 at just about any pet store. I like the I-Click best though and you can get that from Smartpak or google clickertraining

Basically a clicker is a clicker. There is no need to spend any more than a few dollars on one, and certainly not 50! The top of a jam jar works just as well except its a pain to carry around :rolleyes:

There are a few varieties though and a few choices you can make. All of these combinations should be a available for a few dollars.

Loud or Soft? Most clickers make a loud, crisp sound. All the clickers that I use are loud ones, especially at the moment while Charlie is learning flyball, he doesnt hear the soft click for hitting the box. If you have a dog that is scared of the clicker noise, if you are in obedience classes where you dont want to annoy everyone else with a loud clicker, or if you just want a softer sound, then there is one called the i-click that is really good. I also picked one up one day that had an adjustable sound. I think I paid about $5 for it, thinking it would be good to have a different sound for each dog. In the end I just used it on the loudest setting for both dogs, but at least I have the option of a soft one when I need it.