BC Boards

When to change to adult food

Yep, one year mark. Start by mixing a little adult food into the puppy food, then each day add a little more adult food and less puppy food until its all replaced. We usually take about 1 week to 2 weeks to do the full switch.

I changed at the 6 month mark... some people on here will say don't even use puppy food (I think :rolleyes: )

I changed at the 6 month mark... some people on here will say don't even use puppy food (I think :rolleyes: )

I'm one of those. My pups are put straight on adult food. Puppy foods tend to promote faster growth and fat puppies, neither of which promotes optimal health, especially WRT to the joints. So I would recommend switching now rather than waiting longer. JMO.

J.

I'm no expert (hah! couldn't resist :rolleyes: ), but I also agree with not feeding puppy food. You can feed an "all life stages" food from the beginning. In any case, it's definitely a good time to switch Bindi over.

As for mixing the two, you could. My dogs have never had a problem switching foods "cold turkey", so that's what I do. I've heard some dogs do better if you slowly transition them, so it could go either way.

At the vet's recommendation, we also switched over at 6 months; we actually started mixing the foods at 5 months, and completed the transition by the 6th month. But then again, I am not an "expert". (Sorry, I also could not resist the temptation...)

My pups are put straight on adult food. Puppy foods tend to promote faster growth and fat puppies, neither of which promotes optimal health, especially WRT to the joints. So I would recommend switching now rather than waiting longer. JMO.

As usual, I have no expertise of my own to provide, only links. I also have no opinion on the subject, as I seem to acquire only cast-off dogs in their post-puppy adolescence.