BC Boards

Tri pup from black/white parents

tessthepest

My dog had 6 puppies on June 1st, both of the parents are purebred, and black/white. one of the puppies looks like she might be a tri colored

is that possible? also when tri pups are born is the brown color not very noticable at first, then develop as the pup gets older? that seems to be the cace with this one. she has brown on her legs,a bit on her chest, the sides of her face and the two spots above her eyes.

DSC00192.jpg

I'm no expert but my black and white dog came from two Tri Colored parents and was the only B/W pup in the litter, there was a red merle and tris but no other B/W. You would have to find out the colors of the sire and dam of the parents etc... to make sure.

andrea D.

That pup is definitely a tri colour BC. Its very possible that 2 Black and white Bc's have a coloured litter s one or more of the parents may carry the tri gene. Not to be rude or anything but if you dont know this simple fact about colour in BC's why exactly are you breeding?

Tri pup.

Lift the pups' tails; tan or brown hair around the butt indicates tri color. The tri color may become more prominate with age and may be found in other locations too. The photo shows tan/brown in typical locations: cheak, possibly inside the ears, leg (two locations), and eye brows.

Mark

Hi Melanie,

In shelties I have seen merles come from "apparent" tris. The one dog looked like a tri but was in fact a merle. After the breeder's surprise (very responsible person so the litter did not have multiple sires)she checked the young dog out hair by hair and found that what she thought was a very small white body spot was indeed a merle spot. Thereafter, the dog bred true as a merle-he was already registered as a black tri and I don't know how that was fixed.