BC Boards

Looking for breeder in PNW

I appologize in advance, this may get a bit long.

I am starting to look at breeders now for my next dog. I currently have two dogs, a BC mix and a working line German Shepherd. Both are awesome dogs, but my BC mix is something special. He is pretty much exactly what I wanted in a partner and a pet. He takes to everything that I put in front of him, but unfortunately he has some health issues including severe hip dysplasia as well as a heart defect that limit what he can do, and also limit his lifespan. His temperament and energy level definitely are more towards a Border Collie so that is what I am looking at for my next dog.

My dogs come pretty much everywhere with either me or my fiance. We both have jobs where we are able to bring our dogs. I work as a trainer so my next dog will be a demo dog. I plan on doing competition obedience for sure, along with agility or disc dog. Really whatever the dog enjoys doing. I would love to do herding but currently I haven't found any places that offer that.

What I am looking for in a dog temperament wise is a dog that is stable. Since my dogs come so many places I want to find a dog that has a steady temperament and isn't reactive or fearful. I know a lot of that is socialization, but there is obviously a genetic component to it. I am fine with high energy and drive but I don't want a dog that doesn't have an off switch. At the end of the day I enjoy a dog that can settle down and snuggle.

I am also looking for a breeder that tests hips, elbows, and eyes at a minimum. After what has happened with my current dog I am a bit gun shy in that area so it is important that I set myself up the best I can to get a dog that has sound joints.

I have poked around a bit for breeders with friends who have them, but wanted to see if you guys had any breeders you recommend!

I am in Washington state but am willing to travel to Idaho, Oregon, Montana, Northern California, and Northern Nevada.