BC Boards

breeder considerations

roscoe11

Hey I found bordercollie.org today. I then spent a good part of the afternoon reading through the forums, what a great resource.

When you answer this question please remember I am a newbie.

While reading through the forums I notice a rather condescending attitude toward sport dog breeders vs. the working dog breeder. How would you characterize the difference between the two types of breeder? Are their traits in a BC that a breeder that does agility our disc dog competitions would wont and that a working dog breeder would not? It seems to me that both breeders are looking towards and striving for the same thing. The trait that makes a good working dog also makes a good sports dog….. right?

The reason I ask is that I am looking for a BC puppy. My interest is mostly in agility and disc dog competitions (because I live in the city). Should I by pass the sport dog breeder and go right to the source (the working dog breeder) or is there a good reason to stay with the type of breeder that competes in the same arena that I intend too competes in?

Thank you

Steve

It seems to me that both breeders are looking towards and striving for the same thing. The trait that makes a good working dog also makes a good sports dog….. right?

I guess the place to start is to identify what traits are needed for a good working stock dog and compare them to the traits needed for a dog to be a good sports dog.

I have seen plenty of dogs that were great sport dog prospects that were not worth a lick when it came to stock work. The ability to control and handle livestock is not needed nor valued in dog sports (valued as in there is no reward issued in the form of a ribbon or trophy). Might want the drive, intensity and self control but not the inate feel and natural reflexes to the motion of the livestock that a great stockdog would have.

ETA: Welcome to the boards.