BC Boards

Flyball and Agility Questions.

I am so excited we get to go to our first flyball pratice tomorrow. Never attended one before or had I ever heard of flyball before owing Jack. While milling around here before I registerd did I learn of the sport and thought this would be a good way for him to expend his energy. We are going to start agility but he has to attend their obedience class first, we start obedience class in April for 6 weeks then in to agility. I was just wondering since I am new to this are there any tips, advice, etc.. that I should know as a novice to flyball and agility.

I was just wondering since I am new to this are there any tips, advice, etc.. that I should know as a novice to flyball and agility.

I can't speak for flyball, but for Agility my advice is - take your time and keep it fun! :rolleyes:

One thing to be aware of, IME, is that flyball and agility have very opposite jumping styles. Flyball is very long flat jump, while agility needs more of an "up and over" style jump. I work jump grids more frequently because of this, to keep rig in form.

Also very different energy levels. FB can be a bit, um, crazy, while agility is more focused and team oriented. These may or may not be a concern, depending on the level you play at.

We had so much fun, Jack did very good for his first time. This is going to be good for him he made so many friends in pack play. He was so tired when we left his was almost a sleep before we left the drive way. I am so proud of him he is such a good boy. We are going to try to get him to play with a tug, he loves his toys but they do not have the recall (if that is what you would call it) we need like the ball does. Matt wrestles around with him and the ball so we are going to have him start with the tug as much as those two play he should love it in no time. I do admit I was so nervous at first but the people there were so nice and helpful, I can't wait for next Saturday for the next pratice.