BC Boards

Beginner agility questions

Dear Boards,

I'm a beginner to the sport of agility and I have questions. Can I do agility with my lizard?

Does Clicker training work best? I tried it on a snake, but had poor results because snakes have no ears. I had to use hand signals and frequently had to roll him (her? Crikey! How can you tell?) on its/ his/her/ their back to show my dominance. Is that cruel? An electronic collar was not an option because it kept sliding off.

Oh yeah, back to my lizard. He (she?) is really good at jumping and running through big fabric tubes. (The snake was awesome.... AWESOME in the giant tube, but really sucked at A-Frame, so he/ she/it/ they was re-homed.

Oh Yeah. My lizard.

So how would you go about training. I mean, I know how to train,I have a lot of books , but I cant really motivate him/ her. How would you motivate a lizard to want to do agility?

Do I have to get my lizard registered by AKC, or are there other registries where she / he/ it/ them can be registered on merit?

I still have the electric training collar. Does it work on lizards?

He/ she/ has been wearing an electric anti-bark collar for a couple of weeks, and I have NO problem with barking. None.

I'm also planning to breed my lizard...AFTER we have titles, of course , and after I figure out what sex it is.

What color do I breed her/him/them to, in order to produce a merle?

I'm going to call my kennel ,"Blue Mist Sport Lizards" or, maybe "Dusty Rose Action Lizards" if red merles are produced.

Dear Boards,

I'm a beginner to the sport of agility and I have questions. Can I do agility with my lizard?

Does Clicker training work best? I tried it on a snake, but had poor results because snakes have no ears. I had to use hand signals and frequently had to roll him (her? Crikey! How can you tell?) on its/ his/her/ their back to show my dominance. Is that cruel? An electronic collar was not an option because it kept sliding off.