BC Boards

The "Other" Organizations

Hello everyone! I am still a novice handler and I had some success with trialing in the USBCHA novice classes this spring and summer, but I want more! I would like to be able to get my dogs more experience under their belts and was wondering what everyone's opinion was on trialing with the AHBA or ASCA. I have no idea what the differences are other than everyone says USBCHA trials are more difficult. Another question I have is will I catch hostility from straddling the fence? (If I do decide to try the other organizations.) Thanks in advance...

Jenna

I have done both- well, usbcha and asca. There is NO outrun in asca- there is a take pen, where you send your dog in to get the sheep. I do believe that they have ranch classes, which include trailer loading etc., but there are no really big fields to work in. I was in the asca trial first, then the usbcha. Experience is experience- and different situations are good for your dog. Lots less (to no) gather work in asca, and almost all gather work in novice usbcha. There are folks who do both, and I don't know why anyone would be hostile should you do both. If they are, tell them to ...... You do what you want with your dog. I have gotten, believe it or not, the brush off at asca events for my dog not being controlled enough, and not obedient enough- and not leashed enough... but at the usbcha trials everyone has been very friendly. Of course I have a dog who is not BC or Aussie!