BC Boards

I think I might have found the sheep for me

KrisK

Okay, I think I might be looking at Shetland sheep. I found a contact in E. Ontario who raises shetlands, dorpers and I think Katadhins. I wasn't sure about their 'flocking' instinct but she has said they use their Border collies with all the sheep. She also said, they are 'feisty' so I would need to get some experience handling them. From what she said, most people really enjoy working with the Shetlands once they have had the chance. And they may be more appropriate for my smaller pasture area since they are smaller.

So, does anyone else have Shetlands? What's your experience with them?

I have zero experience with them myself, but have heard a couple people say they are horrid. Gah, I'm sorry to start this off with a negative comment ohwell.gif I'm sure much depends on how you care for the sheep and how you work them. (I love love love my Cheviots, and God knows they're not the most popular.)

Why not Katadhins? Or Dorper x Katadhins? I've heard good things about these sheep, and lots of border collie people seem to have them. They're good-lookin', too [photo of Dorpers at the Big Bend SDT by Mark B]:

IMG_0767.jpg

My vote is for the Katadhin or Dorp/Kat. Easy care, and easy management - I've heard Shetlands are one of those breeds that either won't stay in fences or won't stay OUT of them. You really can't beat those hair sheep for a first time hobby flock - something to learn on, then you can look around you and see whether you might like to try something more challenging. Trust me, there's always cheap Shetlands for sale - I strongly suspect there's a reason. :rolleyes:

Here's a bit of what the person I contacted wrote -

"We use our border collies on our Shetlands, Dorpers and Katahdin

crosses and we find the Shetlands have more endurance than the meat sheep. The

hair sheep tend to get a little heavy with the dogs once they are broken in