BC Boards

O/T American Eskimo Dogs

Sorry for posting off topic, but I have a friend who is wanting to adopt a 2 yr. old male American Eskimo dog from the local humane society. He looks like a beautiful dog, was surrendered apparently because the owners moved into a new house and the landlord would not allow pets. (Kind of a cop-out excuse, but that was what is listed.)

My question is: Has anyone here had any experience with this breed? Having always had large breed dogs in the past, I don't know anything about them.

Any comment would be appreciated.

Edited to add: My friend has almost no experience with dogs of any type except dog-sitting her daughter's cocker spaniel once in a while.

I'm not an expert on the breed by any measure but I've known a couple from my club and classes. I see them as sort of white shelties with a bit more attitude. They're a spitz breed. They are clever, agile and tend to be barky. I've only known a few but they didn't have the confidence problems that you often see in shelties. A couple have been stand-offish or even a bit snarky with people or dogs but neither were nasty, out of control. Just not real friendly. I'm sure it varies from dog to dog.

This might be a good time for your friend to do a bunch of research on the web to see what she can learn about them. Any rescue organization is a good place to start. My general impression of Eskies is they're fun little dogs.

I had a foster last year that was an Eskie mix (I think). He was a nice dog, though with a bit of attitude ("'Come?' You and what army?").

My cousin had a wonderful Eskimo dog: specifically, a Nome dog. I don't get the spitz connection: Gal was ~150-200 lbs, gave our kids rides on her back - we took a photo of Chuck with oour las/shepherd Vamp nest to Dave and Gal. Looked like Dave & Gal were at my side of the driveway and Chuck & Vamp were out by the road (yes, we refered to them as my cousin Dave and his blue dog Gal).