BC Boards

copraphagia

I dont know if Im putting this in the correct section and frankly I'm too horrified to care. My collie has suddenly

started to eat frozen poopsicles that she's enthusiastically DIGGING through the snow to score. She's 5

or so, she gets plenty of daily exercise, she's raw

fed, she's healthy, she lives happily as one of 3 and they're all about the same age - I've had a

couple of greyhounds do it in the past and

I've dealt with it by baiting my backyard and then using a citronella collar. I'm a trainer. In both those cases I used a surprise positive punishment to condition away from putting one's mouth on frozen poop and I was careful to use a remote control and to stay behind the closed door, eagle-eyeing the offending dog so that my timing would be perfect. And it was. Problem solved. Two well-timed squirts. Both dogs would notice but not lower their heads from there forward...greyhounds are verrry suggestible.

But that's not an aversive I would even vaguely consider for my collie. Which leaves me asking if anyone else's collies do it? Clearly the solution is to pick up the yard every single time but I am very not happy with the thought of a dog swallowing poop offlead either. So far I haven't reacted at all,...unless she's read the look of horror and revulsion on my face as I deal witn it...so she probably guesses. Sorry, long, I know...thanks.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Have you tried adding Adolph's meat tenderizer to her food?

It's an old remedy for poop eating, and since I've never had to try it I have no idea if it works or not. Probably wouldn't hurt to at least try it.

It's supposed to make the stool taste bad, so you'd have to add it to all of the dogs' food.

There are some other products on the market now specifically made for dogs. They might be worth looking into as well.

Sorry, but that's all I've got. <_<