BC Boards

Little Lost Loki

A little background on Loki first... Loki is a 3 yr old neutered male merle who was born deaf. He is a puppy mill dog who spent all but 6 weeks of the first 7 months of his life in a kennel/shelter. He briefly lived with a family with 3 young boys and another dog but he was returned to the shelter because he was too much. He was popped by an Aussie rescue in Quebec and he came to BCRO and finally was adopted by me.

He has issues with lights and shadows but he is very responsive and knows quite a few signs. He has matured into a lovely dog and I'm very happy with him. I work as a behaviourist with autistic persons and I'm a big believer in letting Loki be who he is, even if that means he is a bit off the wall. He was always fenced or tied up, since he had isssues with his recall. Obviously, in his past, he's been punished for running away and it has been a lot of work to get a solid recall on him.

Last year, I moved to a 400 acre farm and adopted Nell, an old working dog who needed a retirement home. Nell and Loki developed a very close bond and with Nell's help, Loki learned his boundaries and was able to run free on this farm. He and Nell just cruised the farm all day long, and he came to me when I signed him in. He and Nell are both guardy and would have great curly lip fights over anything, leaves, feathers,toys, food. I could see that it was all in play and Nell and Loki would share a blanket in the evening and sleep with their rumps touching. I knew that when Nell was gone, Loki would miss her terribly.