BC Boards

Is anyone a Veterinary Technologist?

I am applying to the only college in my state that has a degree for this. They only take 30 students a year. It is a rigorous road to make the top 40 applicants, which are the only ones invited to the oral interview from which they select the 30. I will also be taking about a 50% pay cut. However, I think I really want to do this. I love animals. I love the medical field. I love helping people and animals, and I have been doing what I do for over 20 years and I am pretty burnt on it. I already have a degree so I would only have to take the VETT classes and labs and my school is paid for.

So, I was wondering if there are any of you out there that could give me some input. Is it worth my busting my buns to get in (we are talking lots of intense chemistry and biology classes in a short amount of time. lol). Is it worth the giant pay cut? That is really the least of my concerns. I am more interested in the job satisfaction and loving what I do. Do you love it? Hate it? Is it stimulating enough? Do you actually assist the Vet in procedures? Whatever you can tell me I would love to hear and appreciate the insight.

thanks,

Tammy

I am applying to the only college in my state that has a degree for this. They only take 30 students a year. It is a rigorous road to make the top 40 applicants, which are the only ones invited to the oral interview from which they select the 30. I will also be taking about a 50% pay cut. However, I think I really want to do this. I love animals. I love the medical field. I love helping people and animals, and I have been doing what I do for over 20 years and I am pretty burnt on it. I already have a degree so I would only have to take the VETT classes and labs and my school is paid for.