BC Boards

Difficult Dog

urbanfarms

Hi all, I'm new to this and to herding, so I would appreciate your patience with me and advice!!!

I bought my hubby a male BC almost 2 years ago. We have a dairy farm and are trying to teach him to bring the cattle down from the pasture and into the barn. He is very obedient in the barn and in the yard, but out in the pasture if you call him or try to direct him he will just run off and go back to the barn. It's as if he's all for moving cattle when he can do it his way, but if you try to gain some control he will stop all together. I tried a long line, but he won't leave your side when he's attached to anything.

Also he grips terribly. But again, if he can't do it his way he won't do it at all.

I just don't know, because he only does this when working cattle. Otherwise he is very good.

Thanks to anybody who has time to respond!

Warning: I'm a big time novice. But, it strikes me that you might be asking for the whole tamale, right from the get-go?

Most of us train our dogs to do tasks by breaking the task down into smaller pieces at first. So, first I'd teach my dog to mind me when the stock aren't really trying to go anywhere, in a smaller area when they are calm. A lot of people use young stock, or something like goats or sheep to train a youngster at first.

Then when the dog knows to mind me, I can introduce things that are a little harder - bigger area, stock that is a little harder to work.

It would be really great if you could get the help of someone who is experienced working dogs, in your area, but I know that's not always possible.

Good luck! I feel your pain - I worked for a long time trying to train my first dog on my own. I went to a couple clinics and sort of learned what I was doing wrong, but nothing beats having someone to look over your shoulder all the way along.

Welcome, especially to another person with cows, although ours are beef. We have lots of "sheep people" here but few "cow folks".