BC Boards

She's Anemic...

My six-month-old border collie just went in to get spayed and they did some blood work prior to the surgery. The Dr. said she was anemic. He blamed it on her diet. I've been feeding her Orijen Adult for about two months. Here's the nutrition info: http://www.championpetfoods.com/orijen/products/adult.aspx

He said I should switch her to puppy food. He had never heard of Orijen before, and I've told him about it at least four times over the last two months, telling him that I'd been feeding it to my dog. He has never looked it up and still tells me to put her on a puppy food that petsmart sells (the only choices being Royal Canin, Pedigree, Eukanuba, etc...), and that they are better than what I'm feeding her. He's not even telling me why? What a prick.

Should I switch her to a premium puppy food, or stay with what I have? Also, is my vet a dumb-ass?

Also, is my vet a dumb-ass?

:rolleyes:

Well that was good for a laugh, thanks. I'll let the people who know more than me answer you, though. :D

ETA: I wonder why he decided it had to be diet related? I think I'd want to nail down there wasn't anything else going on before I settled in for a long hard slog of changing diets around.

Also, is my vet a dumb-ass?

Yes.

Orijen is MUCH better than just about anything you can get at Petsmart (they have a few good foods, but Orijen is good stuff).

It sounds like there might be an underlying problem other than the food. There's no reason to keep a 6-month old on puppy food either. All of mine go off puppy food by 4-5 months at the lastest. And I've never had an issue. What about water intake, amounts of exercise, thyroid, etc?

But Kudos for spaying her, feeding good food, and doing bloodwork!

Guest LJS1993
Yes.

Orijen is MUCH better than just about anything you can get at Petsmart (they have a few good foods, but Orijen is good stuff).