BC Boards

What videos are worth getting

CJ_&_Mitch

Hello. I'm new to the "Board" and new to herding. I have a year-old rescue who, it turns out, is quite naturally talented. I'm playing "catch up."

I'm already working with a trainer and reading a couple of books (V. Holland and H. Glyn Jones) but would also like a video or two that might help me better visualize what i'm doing.

I'd like to see dogs being trained -- and preferably not always assuming the viewer is starting with a young pup.

Can anyone make some recommendations?

Thanks.

Have you thought about videoing your lesson? It really helped me out at first.

Mark

Hello. I'm new to the "Board" and new to herding. I have a year-old rescue who, it turns out, is quite naturally talented. I'm playing "catch up."

I'm already working with a trainer and reading a couple of books (V. Holland and H. Glyn Jones) but would also like a video or two that might help me better visualize what i'm doing.

I'd like to see dogs being trained -- and preferably not always assuming the viewer is starting with a young pup.

Can anyone make some recommendations?

Thanks.

As a purchaser of many of Geri's DVDs, tapes and books, I'd strongly recommend anything of Derek Scrimgeour's. I have really learned a lot from both The Shepherd's Pup and from the earlier A Hill Shepherd Trains His Border Collies, which has some fabulous footage of trained dogs at work on the hill at its very end. I'd also highly recommend his book, Talking Sheepdogs.

If you are new to the stockdog world, though, I would most highly recommend reading Donald McCaig's Eminent Dogs, Dangerous Men. There is nothing else like it.

Here is the link to the videos that Geri has available. http://www.bcollies.com/videos.htm

I would strongly recommend Derek's A shepherd's pup. I was out last week at his clinic for a couple of days and learned so much. I will be going back out again this week for a couple of days too.

Kathy